SSE announces inaugural Board

February 16, 2017

NSW Deputy Premier and Minister for Regional New South Wales, Skills and Small Business John Barilaro today announced the inaugural board for the Sydney School of Entrepreneurship (SSE), the prestigious new partnership between all 12 NSW tertiary institutions.

The board will play a crucial role in shaping the academic framework for SSE members – all 11 NSW based universities and TAFE NSW – to deliver world-leading training, support and mentoring for students looking to establish and operate innovative businesses across NSW.

“The SSE board, led by Chairman Emeritus Professor Mark Wainwright AM FTSE, brings together remarkable expertise in education, start-ups, innovation and small business to help create an innovation powerhouse for NSW, driving our economy and creating exceptional job opportunities,” Mr Barilaro said.

SSE was launched with a cornerstone investment by the NSW Government in 2016. Operations will commence this year with a ‘semester of events’ in Semester One 2017, including activities across rural, regional and metropolitan NSW. Launch of the Sydney campus and coursework is planned for Semester Two 2017.

NSW Vice Chancellor Committee Chair and SSE Board Member Professor Attila Brungs said: “The board will lead SSE’s operations and pave the way for dynamic input from our academic partners as well as the broader entrepreneurial community via entrepreneurs in residence, guest lecturers, mentors and extracurricular activities.”

TAFE NSW Managing Director Jon Black added: “TAFE NSW is delighted to join the Sydney School of Entrepreneurship. It will provide our students with direct access to the best in entrepreneurial education, strong connections with industry and build a powerful and diverse community across disciplines, locations and backgrounds. As a founding member of SSE, TAFE NSW is supporting the ambition of our rising entrepreneurial stars and will inspire the next generation of NSW entrepreneurs.”

Board Chairman Wainwright is currently Visiting Professor at the University of New South Wales and an Order of Australia recipient for his services to tertiary education and chemical engineering as a researcher and academic.

Full media release available here