Students across NSW can kickstart their entrepreneurial future by joining The Navigator, a core unit of study by Sydney School of Entrepreneurship (SSE). Undergraduate students enrolled at 11 New South Wales universities and TAFE NSW of all locations, disciplines and interests are encouraged to apply now via


A ten week online and face to face learning activity, The Navigator is curated and taught by University of Technology Sydney (UTS), Macquarie University, Charles Sturt University and UNSW Sydney.

“We were delighted to continue to lead this core unit for Sydney School of Entrepreneurship and gratified by the interest and enthusiasm from the diverse community of budding student entrepreneurs across NSW” said Emeritus Professor Roy Green, UTS Innovation Adviser.

Working in inter institutional and cross disciplinary teams, the Navigator helps to build entrepreneurial mindset and capability. SSE students will discover, map and analyse startup ecosystems around where they live, work and study. Providing direct access and valuable insights into innovation networks, this experience will connect students with like-minded entrepreneurial thinkers and doers to “navigate” their own entrepreneurial success.

The Director of the MBA in Entrepreneurship, Dr Jochen Schweitzer, and the Director of the Diploma in Innovation, Dr Martin Bliemel at University of Technology Sydney said, “We collaborate with SSE as a large common stage to explore and deliver academic best practice in interdisciplinary, experiential learning. This Navigator continues the unprecedented opportunity to teach entrepreneurship across two of our own faculties and alongside three inter institutional colleagues including Dr Lara Moroko from Macquarie University, Dr Selena Griffith from UNSW Sydney and Professor Morgan Miles of Charles Sturt University. SSE is a new collaboration for new ways of learning and it’s exciting to be at the helm of the first core unit of study.”

Says Navigator class of 2018 alumni, Lachlan Hicks from Charles Sturt University in Bathurst: “SSE is such a good melting pot of different mindsets and perspectives. That helps me as a young entrepreneur by broadening what I can see, know and understand when tackling my challenges. For a lot of regional students, we don’t have opportunities like these. The Navigator is a great way for young entrepreneurial minds to understand what’s going on in their local spheres and ecosystems. It helps them learn how they can be a player in those ecosystems to make a change.”

Key facts about the Navigator

  • Commences 25 July with compulsory face to face intensives in Sydney 3-4 August and 13-14 October 2018.
  • May be available for credit towards a university degree or TAFE NSW program. Check eligibility via FAQ’s. Registrations for credit must be sent to by 25 June.
  • Students from rural and regional locations are encouraged to apply. Mobility scholarships are available to support travel and accommodation for the Sydney intensives.
  • Learning outcomes include inter-disciplinary teamwork, entrepreneurship knowledge, critical thinking, communications, wider community considerations and decision-making.The Navigator cohort for Spring 2018 will be selected on the basis of making the opportunity accessible and ensuring diversity across SSE members, disciplines, locations and gender. All interested and eligible should apply as soon as possible via


Communications enquiries:

Ethan Gordon
M: 0468 482 572


About Sydney School of Entrepreneurship

Sydney School of Entrepreneurship (SSE) is an unprecedented collaboration between all 11 NSW universities and TAFE NSW. SSE brings together highly motivated students from a range of backgrounds, disciplines and locations from across NSW with the purpose of driving next generation Australian entrepreneurship. Independent and not-for-profit, SSE was established in 2016 with cornerstone investment by the NSW Government.

Academic members:

  • Australian Catholic University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Macquarie University
  • Southern Cross University
  • The University of Newcastle
  • The University of Sydney
  • University of New England
  • University of Technology Sydney
  • University of Wollongong
  • UNSW Sydney
  • Western Sydney University


Download PDF