Kickstart your journey

SSE brings together a diverse mix of student entrepreneurs from different institutions across NSW, from a wide range of disciplines including business, IT, engineering, law, health, science, media and design.

SSE units develop the entrepreneurial mindset and engage students through peer-to-peer, experiential and immersive learning activities.
We connect student entrepreneurs with SSE’s growing network of partners across industry and government.

Open to all students enrolled in 11 New South Wales universities and TAFE NSW colleges, from all locations, disciplines and interests.

Academic Units

Unit: The Navigator

The Navigator is an experiential and intense process of discovering or ‘navigating’ the world of entrepreneurship.  It is a project-based and collaborative 10 week course with two intensives, where students come together to collaborate, discover and form new networks. Students connect with more than 60 industry, government and startup touchpoints at local, national and global levels.

Unit: Ideation

The Ideation unit provides a grounded understanding of the process of creatively transforming problems into compelling and impactful opportunities – critical for established organisations and start-ups. In this unit, students hone their ability to apply design thinking principles. Developing solutions through the creative process of ideation, students learn to articulate, investigate and reframe “problems” into “opportunities.”

In this highly experiential unit students undertake a journey of discovery through online learning coupled with a four day intensive workshop where students come together to work collaboratively to reframe real-world opportunities.

What’s it like studying at SSE?

Student entrepreneurs engage with industry professionals and academics from a diverse range of backgrounds, disciplines and locations across NSW. Units are experiential and flexible, with a blend of online learning and face-to-face sessions.

At SSE we believe opportunity should be accessible to all.  Students receive mobility scholarships to attend. SSE units are offered at no cost and may count for credit towards university or TAFE NSW programs (fees may apply from the home institution).

There are no cramped lecture halls or exams at SSE, we are unconventional and dynamic.

Students make unexpected friendships and become a lifetime member of a powerful entrepreneurial community.

Collaboration between 11 NSW universities and TAFE NSW

SSE brings together highly motivated students from a diverse range of backgrounds, disciplines and locations from across NSW. Our purpose is to drive next generation Australian entrepreneurship, creating high growth companies and new jobs.

Independent and not-for-profit, SSE was established in 2016 with cornerstone investment by the NSW Government.

SSE members are Australian Catholic University, Charles Sturt University, Macquarie University, Southern Cross University, TAFE NSW, The University of Newcastle, The University of Sydney, University of New England, University of Technology Sydney, University of Wollongong, UNSW Sydney and Western Sydney University.

How can I find out more?

Just ask! You can reach us via email at or on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram @SSENSW.


Keep an eye out for upcoming news and events.